Security Deposit Refund Illinois Renters Rights Law Illinois Security Deposit Return Act IL Chicago
Is your Landlord refusing to give back your security deposit? Landlord avoiding your emails and phone calls? We can help.
Landlord tenant law in the state of Illinois is included here. There are specific steps a landlord must meet regarding security deposits. If the landlord does not follow the exact letter of the law then their right to withhold ANY of your deposit money is forfeited completely. In this case Tenant laws in the State of Illinois force the landlord to return 100% of your security deposit.
T765 ILCS 710/) Security Deposit Return Act. (765 ILCS 710/0.01) (from Ch. 80, par. 100) Sec. 0.01. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Security Deposit Return Act. (Source: P.A. 86‑1324.) (765 ILCS 710/1) (from Ch. 80, par. 101) Sec. 1. A lessor of residential real property, containing 5 or more units, who has received a security deposit from a lessee to secure the payment of rent or to compensate for damage to the leased property may not withhold any part of that deposit as compensation for property damage unless he has, within 30 days of the date that the lessee vacated the premises, furnished to the lessee, delivered in person or by mail directed to his last known address, an itemized statement of the damage allegedly caused to the premises and the estimated or actual cost for repairing or replacing each item on that statement, attaching the paid receipts, or copies thereof, for the repair or replacement. If the lessor utilizes his or her own labor to repair any damage caused by the lessee, the lessor may include the reasonable cost of his or her labor to repair such damage. If estimated cost is given, the lessor shall furnish the lessee with paid receipts, or copies thereof, within 30 days from the date the statement showing estimated cost was furnished to the lessee, as required by this Section. If no such statement and receipts, or copies thereof, are furnished to the lessee as required by this Section, the lessor shall return the security deposit in full within 45 days of the date that the lessee vacated the premises. Upon a finding by a circuit court that a lessor has refused to supply the itemized statement required by this Section, or has supplied such statement in bad faith, and has failed or refused to return the amount of the security deposit due within the time limits provided, the lessor shall be liable for an amount equal to twice the amount of the security deposit due, together with court costs and reasonable attorney's fees. (Source: P.A. 86‑1302.) (765 ILCS 710/1.1) (from Ch. 80, par. 101.1) Sec. 1.1. In the event of a sale, lease, transfer or other direct or indirect disposition of residential real property, other than to the holder of a lien interest in such property, by a lessor who has received a security deposit or prepaid rent from a lessee, the transferee of such property shall be liable to that lessee for any security deposit, including statutory interest, or prepaid rent which the lessee has paid to the transferor. Transferor shall remain jointly and severally liable with the transferee to the lessee for such security deposit or prepaid rent. (Source: P.A. 81‑1525.) (765 ILCS 710/2) (from Ch. 80, par. 102) Sec. 2. This Act takes effect January 1, 1974 and applies to leases executed on or after that date. (Source: P. A. 78‑588.)
Go to court? You might be asking yourself if it's worth your tie and money to take your landlord to court to get your security deposit back. We have solved this problem for you. We notify your landlord. We inform them of our intention to act on your behalf to require full payment in 30 days or less. We also inform them of all action we will take to force them to pay up should they decide to try and ignore our complaint. We have a 99% success rate.
Foreclosed or bankruptcy is not a problem at all. It makes no difference if the property has been foreclosed or even if your landlord is bankrupt. Your funds, YOUR security deposit is protected and WE GET IT BACK! No up front cost to you at all. We don't get paid until you paid.
In most of 50 states if a landlord does not send an itemized statement and deposit balance to the tenant within 30 days of the date the rental agreement is terminated or the tenant moves out, whichever is later, the landlord forfeits all rights to any of the deposit and to take further legal action against the tenant in a court of a law. It really makes no difference how much damage there is if any. Even if there was $10,000 in damages, the landlord has lost his rights to suit you in court. Most landlords don't even know this.